2nd International Summer School

on “Nanosciences & Nanotechnologies” - SS-NN08 (12-18 July 2008)

2nd International Summer School on “Nanosciences & Nanotechnologies” (SS-NN08)



SS-NN08 Photos !!!

Download the SS-NN08 Program



The Summer School, including the attendance in the NN08 Conference, will review the current state of knowledge in the various fields of Nanosciences & Nanotechnologies (NN). The aim of the SS-NN08 is the training of the next-generation researchers in the nanotechnology fields.

Last year, the SS-NN07 had more than 45 students from many universities across Europe. The participants attended lectures given by frontline researchers and professors.

The SS-NN08 includes lectures by distinguished scientists on the current trends in the field of NN and state-of-the-art techniques, as well as experimental demonstration in laboratory facilities. We expect that the SS-NN08 would be a gate way for innovative high-tech ideas coming from enthusiastic young researchers.


Who should attend?

Undergraduate students
Graduate students
Post Graduate Students
Post Doctoral Fellows
Researcher Scientists
All those who wish to be introduced and apply nanotechnology in their research      activities


NN08 and the SS-NN08 are organized by the Interdisciplinary Postgraduate Program "Nanosciences & Nanotechnologies" the Thematic Network NanoNet., and the Laboratory for Thin Films, Nanosystems & Nanometrology (LTFN).





  1. Prof. G. Malliaras, Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Cornell University, USA

  2. Dr. A. Baumgaertner, Forschungszentrum  Julich, Germany

  3. Prof. M. Damnjanovic, University of Belgrade, Department of Physics, Serbia

  4. Prof. G. Kousoulas, Division of Biotechnology and Molecular Medicine, Louisiana State University,USA

  5. Prof. P. Vassilopoulos, Department of Physics , Concordia University, Canada

  6. Dr. V. Koutsos, Institute for Materials and Processes, School of Engineering and Electronics & Centre for Materials Science and Engineering, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

  7. Dr. N. Meyer, AIXTRON, Germany

  8. Dr. A. Nassiopoulou, Institute of Microelectronics, NCSR Demokritos, Greece

  9. Prof. J. Kallitsis, Chemistry Department, University of Patras, Greece

  10. Prof. S. Anastasiadis, Chemical Engineering Department, AUTh, Greece

  11. Prof. M. Arsenakis, Biology Department, AUTh, Greece

  12. Ass. Prof. N. Frangis, Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  13. Ass. Prof. C. Lioutas, Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  14. Dr. L. Tsetseris, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, USA & Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  15. Dr. S. Kassavetis, Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  16. Dr. M. Gioti, Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  17. Dr. G. Papadopoulos, Department of Biochemistry and Biotechnology, University of Thessaly, Larissa, Greece & Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  18. Ass. Prof. H. Polatoglou, Physics Department, AUTh, Greece

  19. Ass. Prof. T. Choli-Papadopoulou, Chemistry Department, AUTh, Greece

  20. Prof. K. Komvopoulos, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Univ. of California at Berkeley, USA

  21. Dr. K. Porfyrakis, Dept. of Materials, Oxford University, UK

  22. Ass. Prof. P. Patsalas, Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, University of Ioannina, Greece

  23. .....



View the programm of the previous event : SS-NN07


SS-NN08 : The language will be English

free page hit counter